Birthday-splosion

Saturday I went to my first African theme park. It was a small 50 pula place that had maybe five rides
(mostly the twirly spinny kind) and a wave pool. It’s the first time I’ve been invited to do something that lasted longer then a meal and with people I had befriended on my own. I had a marvelous time and hope I can do more with those lovely ladies before I leave!

Early August I was informed, by some of M&P’s friends, that they were planning a birthday bash for three people who’s birthdays all fell around the same time mine did. When I informed them that my golden birthday was fast approaching, they quickly invited me to throw my special day in with theirs’. I was a little awkward at first since I felt as though I were intruding, but soon realized that this was not the case. They were more then happy to add my name to the celebration list.

There was barbeque, karaoke, booze, and dancing. I think one of the best moments of the evening was when the whole room was singing “We are the World.” Understand that we had Kenyans, Ugandans, Americans (white and black), Ethiopians, Gay Republicans, US Marines, Asians, Indians, folk from Botswana, and Filipinos. There were folk from a number of different educational, traditional, cultural, and economic backgrounds. It was fantastic.

I

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthday-splosion

  1. Glad to see you had an awesome birthday!

Leave a Reply

