Monkeys!

As requested by friends in Columbia, there are now pictures of me hooping in a South African airport. These were taken by a lovely woman I met while waiting for the bus to take us to the airplane. Christabelle (the lady) had just graduated from medical school in Russia and could speak six languages fluently.

I also got to see monkeys! I realize this is only monkey butt, but if I’d gotten my camera out in time you would have seen three of them just sitting there outside of the airport. They’re Vervet monkeys and apparently the African equivalent of squirrels.

New things learned today: People native to Botswana are known as Tswana. That’s also the name of the national language. I’ve already kinda learned a few words that will be necessary for basic communication. Also, the way people shake hands here is very different. You’re supposed to use the hand your not using for shaking to cup your elbow. That’s for formal introductions. For casual hand shakings, you shake hands, then grab hands, then shake again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monkeys!

  1. Jeff says:

    So stoked to see pics in today’s post. 🙂
    Also, posts with monkeys in them are the Jeff equivalent to awesome.

  2. You think that’s awesome? Just wait until my post for tonight!

  3. So glad you are posting so we can keep up with your journey! My blog isn’t nearly as interesting as yours, but I hope you get a chance to read it while you’re away. It’s basically all the things I want to say on FB but can’t. haha It should be linked on my name now. I’m going to add you to my blog list!

Leave a Reply

